New Quarters

How many Quarter designs will the United States Mint release through the Circulating Commemorative Quarter Program?

The United States Mint will release 50 new Quarter designs, one in honor of each state, at the rate of five per year, for the next ten years. The Quarters are being issued in the order in which the states ratified the Constitution or entered the Union.

However, on April 1, 1998, Representative Eleanor Holmes-Norton (D-DC) introduced a bill to extend the program by one year to include American Samoa, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. If this bill passes, the United States Mint will release 55 new Quarter designs.

Leave a comment